211 South Montclair Street
Bakersfield, California 93309


Have Questions?

We have answers for you.

Here are some of our most commonly asked questions.

What is the California Boaters Card?

The California Boater Card shows that its holder has successfully taken an approved boating safety course and passed the corresponding exam.

Is it called a boating license, boater education card or boater education certificate?

In CA it is called the California Boaters Card. The card is issued by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW).

What are the benefits of taking a boater safety course?

Mandatory education the law and is required by the state. The California Boater Card Program also promotes boating safety on our waterways.

When do I have to have a card by?

As of the dates shown below, these boaters will be required to carry a boater card issued by DBW, unless they meet certain exemptions. California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 678.11(b) contains the following phase-in schedule based on operator age: – January 1, 2018 Persons 20 years of age or younger -January 1, 2019 Persons 25 years of age or younger -January 1, 2020 Persons 35 years of age or younger -January 1, 2021 Persons 40 years of age or younger -January 1, 2022 Persons 45 years of age or younger -January 1, 2023 Persons 50 years of age or younger -January 1, 2024 Persons 60 years of age or younger -January 1, 2025 All persons regardless of age.

How long is the course?

Approved online courses run a minimum of three hours to complete.

How do I replace my Boater Card if I’ve lost it or it was damaged?

To replace a lost or damaged Boater Card, please visit the California Boater Card website. The cost of a replacement car will be $5.

Ready to get started?

Our California Approved Boating Card Course is easily navigated on any device. If you have internet access, we have the course to get started with! Join today and save.

Ready to get wet? Start your boater safety course today.